The Road Ahead

I used to look back on a past that haunted me
But no more of that
I’m set free.
All the kids and adultsTeachers and teens
All the people who said,
“you’ll never amount to anything”
All the people who ridiculed
Saying, “You’ll always be a nobody.”
Well I proved them wrong
They let me be
Because after all these years
I am the hero in my own story
No more damsels in distress
Or knights in armor for me
I am finally someone,
No longer a nobody
I’ll never reroute to my old ways
Like I said, I am set free
No more scars, no more drinks
No more weed
I’m not here to ruin my life
But to serve a one true God
I’m not going back
All I have is the road ahead of me.

Leave a Reply

